Thursday, May 30, 2024

Arsenal Women quartet honoured in New Year’s Honours List

Arsenal Women quartet Jen Beattie, Kim Little, Leah Williamson and Beth Mead have been honoured in the King’s New Year’s honours list for their services to women’s football.

As captain of England’s Euro 2022 winning squad, Leah Williamson receives an OBE, while Beth Mead, the top scorer and player of the tournament, is recognised with an MBE. England teammates Ellen White and Lucy Bronze were also honoured since they have won more than 100 England caps.

Jen Beattie is honoured for her services to Scottish football as well as her work to raise awareness for breast cancer since the defender was diagnosed in the autumn of 2020. Finally, Gunners captain Kim Little is also awarded an MBE for her services to women’s football after close to 15 years at the top level of women’s football.

They join former men’s team goalkeeper Pat Jennings in being recognised in the New year’s honours list.

Related articles


Notify of

newest most voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Horse breath

Congratulations to all. Well deserved.

Peter Story Teller

Meado must be fed up with collecting awards by now! Perhaps not!
Congratulations to all of the winners especially little Kim and Beats who could quite easily have slipped under the radar but have been hugely influential both on and off the pitch.

Zoe Waterfield

Yes totally agree with you our Lionesses did well but its really good to see our 2 Scotties be recognised too 👍

Fun Gunner

Congratulations to our wonderful women footballers – Kim Little, Jen Beattie, Leah Williamson and Beth Mead. Carry on being magnificent, ladies.
I’m especially pleased about Kim and Jen because their awards represent a lon period of achievement and dedication. Additionally, in Kim Little’s case, she has largely missed out on the exposure that major international tournaments bring.

Fun Gunner

*exposure that her talent merited.

Teryima Adi

Wow. Good to know our Amazons work is being recognized. Congrats, girls👊🏾💪🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾


Congratulations to the Fab Four. IMO should have been Fab Five.
In terms of “services to football” (particularly AWFC) there’s only one Jordan Nobbs.
The only current WSL player to have appeared for the same club in every season since the WSL was established in 2010.
Incredible loyalty.

Share article

Featured on NewsNow

Support Arseblog

Latest posts

Latest Arsecast

Would love your thoughts, please comment.x